Corn, Tomato, Feta and Basil Salad

Yesterday, I found this recipe on Pinterest, and since I worked up the nerve to pinch the basil I grew from seed, I thought I’d go ahead and whip some up.  It’s really easy, too.

DSCN0972

It’s a combination of fresh corn on the cob, feta cheese, cherry tomaters and basil!  I’m sure you never would have guessed that though.  : )

DSCN0988

DSCN0973

DSCN0977

4-5 ears of corn, peeled and cleaned

1 large handful of cherry tomatoes

1/4 sweet yellow onion, diced

1 clove of garlic, minced

2 tsp butter

1 tsp olive oil

2-3 Tbsp feta cheese

4-5 leaves of basil, chopped

Clean the corn and cut the kernels off the cobs.

DSCN0971

Heat butter and olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the diced onion and stir.

DSCN0978

Cook for 2 minutes then add the corn, garlic, tomatoes, salt and pepper to taste.

DSCN0981

Cook, stirring gently for 3-4 minutes then remove from heat. Top with feta and basil.

DSCN0985

This turned out really good. I’m not very fond of ‘maters, but the combination of the other ingredients with them made this dish extremely tasty with a slightly sweet flavor.

This is a great side dish, but could also be a snack with some pita chips. Speaking of pita chips, these are my favorite!

DSCN0990

I find these at HEB. The roasted red pepper hummus is found at Wal-mart in the deli section. The best hummus ever and really good with these pita chips.  This isn’t paid advertising, just me letting you know what I enjoy snacking on!

Enjoy your Saturday!

Leave a Reply

