I love plants with color!

While I was cleaning out a flower bed last weekend, I noticed the side of our house that faces our neighbors driveway.

No windows, just a brick wall! I thought it was the perfect spot to put a couple of trellises.

So Mark and I went to Lowe’s and found that trellises are not cheap! $40 a piece for a wooden trellis? Really?

Slowly turning to my jack-of-all-trades husband, I didn’t even have to ask, he politely said, “Let me go get what I need.” And here’s the results:

My new trellis!

I have two of these now, and have planted Yellow Trumpet Vines under them. They attract butterflies and hummingbirds so I’m excited to see them grow on the new trellises. They are known to grow at a fast rate and are hardy here in Texas. Here’s what the flowers look like:

Yellow trumpet flower is a variety of Tecoma stans, the Yellow Bells.

Here’s a pictures of some caladiums I planted back in March. I added two different types of English ivy for an added touch. It really turned out to be pretty amazing. I just wish I would have spray painted this pot before doing it. It’s a little scratched up and chipped, but nothing some spray paint couldn’t take care of.

Caladiums with english ivy have filled this pot!

I found this bicycle plant stand at Ross for $20. I couldn’t resist. Isn’t it adorable?

Bicycle plant stand I found at Ross.

Here’s some red salvia I planted in a pot not too long ago. I just love how this picture turned out.

Red salvia

When I first planted this coleus plant, it was teeny, tiny, but now it’s really big! I love the lime color on it’s leaves.

One of my favorite flowering tropical vines is the Bougainvillea. A native to the coast of Brazil, this plant will thrive in any well-drained soil. For blooms like this, make sure you set or plant it in at least 5 hours per day of full sunlight. More is better. They also love to be fed. I feed mine with Miracle Grow pellets that last 3 months at a time. These are awesome in hanging baskets, trellisses, hedges or just a cascading planter plant like mine shown below. Nothing beats the color of a Bougainvillea!

Another favorite of mine is this tough, little flower. Moss Rose (Portulaca grandiflora). Loves it anywhere it’s hot and dry, and the colors are just amazing. It has succulent leaves and makes a great groundcover or just in a hanging basket. I have my planted in a small pot for now. Once the seasons over, that’s it. They are annuals. Unless you can create a greenhouse, which I’m thinking of doing!

And here’s a couple of flowers that were in my bouquet I received for Mother’s Day. I love this picture. So colorful.

Lastly, my Hibiscus plant. These are the state flower of Hawaii. Easy to grow, loves the sun and anything tropical! I love them!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Grinning, I love Trumpet Vines and Honeysuckle. When planted close to a house, barn or shed, don’t be shy about being aggressive in pruning this vine. Given a chance it will get under siding and roofs causing much and costly damage.

    Happy gardening

    Reply

Leave a Reply

