My scary, monster squash…

Let me start by saying that I’m not an expert when it comes to vegetation, so when I planted some squash seeds on my kitchen countertop, it didn’t surprise me that everyone that day thought they were brownies.

We don’t have much of a yard for vegetable gardening, but I found a spot that looked like it would be okay. Finally working the nerve up to just go for it, I planted them in the spot. I knew they needed all day sun and this was the spot for that.

I threw a bag of some soil I bought from the garden center to mound it up for proper drainage – I read that somewhere and thought it might a good idea – you know, in case it rained – ummm, well, not so much!

Seriously, I must have done something right or just had really good soil in the spot, because this squash has turned out to be way better than I ever expected!

As a matter of fact, it scared the crap out of me today.

First of all, the leaves are so big that in order to see any vegetation, you have to peer inside by moving the monster leaves and getting up close and personal.

Monster Squash

Once inside, this is what I saw…

Is that a freaking snake?

I don’t know about you, but that dark green twisty vine looked like a freakin’ snake to me!

Check out that dark green vine - very creepy looking!

Anyway, after I calmed down and my heart rate went back to normal, I picked this monster.

Squash #3 - the biggest so far!

This is the third pick and there are about 10 – 12 more on the way.

In the meantime, I’ve been watching my newest sweet potato vine, it’s starting to grow and looking really healthy. Nothing scary about this one!

Sweet Potato Vine Plant

And here’s a picture of our Ficus tree by the kitchen window. It’s doing really well in this spot…

In the corner by the kitchen window - our Ficus tree.

Speaking of kitchen, I think I’ll go cook the squash now! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

