Digging in the dirt.

You can bury a lot of troubles digging in the dirt. ~Author unknown.

So the hubby and I woke up this morning and decided to take a trip to Dirt Cheap Mulch Co. to buy some sand and sod for our yard that is in major need of resuscitation. It’s pretty much in garden ICU for now. Anyway, we got a nice sized load of sand and sod for thirty bucks. It’s just what the doctor ordered (my husband, that is).

But not before our morning ritual of iced coffee.

Here’s the doctor laying the sod.

This is pretty much all the help we got from Dixie, our Boxer…isn’t she a ham for the camera though?

So while Mark was out laying sod, I decided to peruse the patio. I found my Imperial Dark Blue Plumbago had finally bloomed! It’s really pretty and the shrub is supposed to produce these phlox-like blue flowers for most of the year. I’m happy with the decision to purchase this shrub. It’s in a container on my patio.

I was surprised at outcome of this close up. Yep, I found my camera this morning! We moved into our new house back in January and I finally found it this morning! It’s a Nikon CoolPix L11o with a Nikkor 15X Wide Optical Zoom lens.

Ok, so last month I decided to sow some squash seeds. I kept them indoors for probably longer than I was supposed to, but I was really nervous about planting them outside (mostly because I have no experience whatsoever with planting vegetation). But I planted them – all five of them – and this is the one that survived. I’m happy with the outcome. It looks like it’s going to make it and hopefully we will have squash soon!

And to make up for the one’s I lost, I decided to plant the seeds directly into the ground the other day, just to see what happens. And voila!

So every Monday morning when I’m back at work – sitting at my desk – I dig – but not in the dirt. I am digging for my Advil, because after a weekend of working in the yard and garden, every muscle in my body is sore and my back has been burned from the sun!

And as the quote at the top of this blog says “You can bury a lot of troubles digging in the dirt”. Yes, gardening has mental health perks, too. I’ve read that it reducing stress and it’s been recognized for hundreds of years as having healing and restorative benefits.

So, if you are looking for a good fitness program with amazing perks – forget the gym – try gardening!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Racquel on April 10, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    First off that is one of my favorite quotes of all time. 🙂 Your squash plants look great, I need to sow my seeds still. You are way ahead of me. Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

